Web Meets World 1 – Google Account

25Jul08

Demo Girl

Im starting a little series on where you or someone you know can get use of valuable services online – Web Meets World.

I was about to start writing when I read the excellent Demo Girl blog and she was writing exactly about what I wanted to say. Iv trying to help my girlfriend to better understand and use some web tools to help her, but most of the time shes doesnt get it.

So below theres the Demo Girl post and brilliant screencast link. In the future il be using Jing to screencast and share with you.

Step 1. Create An Account On Google…

Yesterday, while I was talking to my Mom, I learned something fascinating.  Not everyone has, or even knows, what a Google account is.  As I was trying to explain to her what you can do with a Google account, I realized that nothing I was saying was sinking in.  I also realized that there are probably a lot of people out there that have no idea what Google is beyond a basic search engine.  That’s where this screencast comes in.

I originally created this screencast just to send to my Mom as sort of an introduction to Google.  I had plans to create a few more screencasts showing her how to set up a Google Calendar and how to chat with me using Google Talk.  I decided that there may be more people out there who could benefit from a quick intro to the search giant, so I’ve decided to share the screencast I made for my Mom, here.  In the coming weeks I plan to create more “how-to” screencasts for basic services that we may use from day to day but some of our loved ones may not have the faintest clue how to operate.  If you have any suggestions on a topic that you think could be helpful, please let me know in the comments.  Remember, I made this screencast with the intention of helping someone who is just getting started with Google, so it’s very basic.

One Response to “Web Meets World 1 – Google Account”

  1. 1 tarot

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe
    guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from
    each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the
    way!


Leave a Reply

